HomeCollaborators and Acknowledgements

Collaborators and acknowledgements

Over a million women in the UK have given their time and energy to fill in detailed questionnaires about their health. The main acknowledgement is undoubtedly due to them. The contribution from many individuals at each of the collaborating NHS Breast Screening Centres (listed below) is also gratefully acknowledged; and we thank staff at General Practices throughout the UK for their generous help in collecting blood samples for The Disease Susceptibility Study.

The Million Women Study is co-ordinated from the Cancer Epidemiology Unit, Nuffield Department of Population Health, University of Oxford.

The Million Women Study Co-ordinating Centre staff are as follows: Simon Abbott, Rupert Alison, Miranda Armstrong, Sarah Atkinson, Krys Baker, Angela Balkwill, Isobel Barnes, Valerie Beral, Judith Black, Roger Blanks, Anna Brown, Benjamin Cairns, Andrew Chadwick, Dave Ewart, Sarah Floud, Kezia Gaitskell, Toral Gathani, Laura Gerrard, Adrian Goodill, Jane Green, Lynden Guiver, Darren Hogg, Isobel Lingard, Sau Wan Kan, Nicky Langston, Kirstin Pirie, Alison Price, Gillian Reeves, Keith Shaw, Emma Sherman, Rachel Simpson, Helena Strange, Sian Sweetland, Lyndsey Trickett, Anthony Webster, Clare Wotton, Lucy Wright, Owen Yang, Heather Young.

The Million Women Study Advisory Committee are: Emily Banks, Valerie Beral, Lucy Carpenter, Carol Dezateux (Chair), Sarah Floud, Jane Green, Julietta Patnick, Richard Peto, Gillian Reeves, Cathie Sudlow.

The following NHS Breast Screening Centres took part in the recruitment and breast screening for the Million Women Study: Avon, Aylesbury, Barnsley, Basingstoke, Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire, Cambridge and Huntingdon, Chelmsford and Colchester, Chester, Cornwall, Crewe, Cumbria, Doncaster, Dorset, East Berkshire, East Cheshire, East Devon, East of Scotland, East Suffolk, East Sussex, Gateshead, Gloucestershire, Great Yarmouth, Hereford and Worcester, Kent, Kings Lynn, Leicestershire, Liverpool, Manchester, Milton Keynes, Newcastle, North Birmingham, North East Scotland, North Lancashire, North Middlesex, North Nottingham, North of Scotland, North Tees, North Yorkshire, Nottingham, Oxford, Portsmouth, Rotherham, Sheffield, Shropshire, Somerset, South Birmingham, South East Scotland, South East Staffordshire, South Derbyshire, South Essex, South Lancashire, South West Scotland, Surrey, Warrington Halton St Helens and Knowsley, Warwickshire Solihull and Coventry, West Berkshire, West Devon, West London, West Suffolk, West Sussex, Wiltshire, Winchester, Wirral, Wycombe.